View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:07 pm



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
 Playon!DVR-HD : Tell us Dual DVBT Tuner or Analog+DVBT? 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 11
Location: New Zealand
Hi Yap

If you are going to produce a Dual Tuner type for "downunder", here in New Zealand they transmit HD Digital TV (terrestrial) in Mpeg4/H.264. As I understand it is the latest technology being used to transmit Hi Def in this type of format.

Check out this link http://magictv.com.hk/nz/index.html
This is what I use to watch HiDef on my plasma TV (which only has a analogue tuner) at 1080i.

The only problem with the official set top boxes (DVRs) avaliable here, is that you cannot upload your recorded DTV to a computer or other form of storage. There are other set top boxes that do record DTV to external hard drives (single digital tuner only) but don't support the interactive programme listing EPG(in MHEG-5 format).

Landau :geek:


Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Netherlands
Thanks everyone for your input and enthusiasm.... keep 'em comin'

@krunos, Playon!DVR-HD is capable of recording 2 channels at the same time, tested in the labs by our engineers. But at this moment I'mnot sure whether it has been implemented in the user interface of the firmware. If it is not in the launch shipping firmware, then it should be in some firmware upgrade version.

@dhe123, sure the recorded shows can be viewed on Playon!HD, PlayonHD Mini and practically anywhere! (hint! hint! I'm dropping a clue to a unique feature ;)). The analog recordings are MPEG2, the digital recordings are .TS

yes, there is an A/V-in in both models

when? what? how? ... subscribe to the newsletter http://www.playondvr.com and you'll be the first to know.

ps. sorry for the tease, we are really in the middle of the final steps like preparing press releases, planning with the resellers which models to have (thanks again for your help), product brochures etc.

_________________
Products & Strategy - AC Ryan
AC Ryan @ Cebit 2011 | 1-5 March 2011 | Hannover Germany | Hall 14 Stand J06


Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:46 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 7
yap, thanks for your answer.

i'm sorry for bugging you but i just want to make sure i understand everything - you said that it has the ability of recording from 2 different channels at the same time. i didn't understand if you mean that this ability will be available in future firmwares only with the dual tuner model, or even in the regular tuner version, as long as the channels are on the same frequency.

with the dongle that i have bought for my HTPC, for example, i can record from all 5 channels at the same time, and it has only one tuner.

and the more important question - can you please tell me if it will support the aac v2 audio codec? otherwise you won't be able to sell it in israel.

Thanks again.


Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:22 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 7
and something else i did not understand - while a recording (or more than one recording) is in progress, will i be able to use the DVR HD to watch other recordings, or to stream content from my home network?


Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Netherlands
krunos wrote:
and something else i did not understand - while a recording (or more than one recording) is in progress, will i be able to use the DVR HD to watch other recordings, or to stream content from my home network?


Yes, as far as I know, you can use the DVR-HD to do other things while it is doing recording. whether it has enough processing power for you to still do other things when there is 2 recordings going, I do not know now. Will need actual further testing to be sure. Do note, it is pre-launch and much information is not yet ready which is what we are working on.

_________________
Products & Strategy - AC Ryan
AC Ryan @ Cebit 2011 | 1-5 March 2011 | Hannover Germany | Hall 14 Stand J06


Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:22 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Netherlands
krunos wrote:
yap, thanks for your answer.

i'm sorry for bugging you but i just want to make sure i understand everything - you said that it has the ability of recording from 2 different channels at the same time. i didn't understand if you mean that this ability will be available in future firmwares only with the dual tuner model, or even in the regular tuner version, as long as the channels are on the same frequency.

with the dongle that i have bought for my HTPC, for example, i can record from all 5 channels at the same time, and it has only one tuner.

and the more important question - can you please tell me if it will support the aac v2 audio codec? otherwise you won't be able to sell it in israel.

Thanks again.


I know that it is able to record 2 channels at one time, one each from the 2 tuners (2 DVBT models). However, I dont know yet whether this has been put into the user interface in the launch firmware or will it be in future firmware.

Is DVR-HD able to record mutliple channels at one time on the same frequency... don't know. We'll certainly check this out. Quite frankly it's the first time I hear of this, I'll surely ask our engineers about it.

AAC V2, can you send me a sample file? thx!
(if the file is too big, you can try sending it with a big file sender like www.yousendit.com)

Keep the questions coming.

Anyone else from more countries who can help us about the type of models for your country?

_________________
Products & Strategy - AC Ryan
AC Ryan @ Cebit 2011 | 1-5 March 2011 | Hannover Germany | Hall 14 Stand J06


Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:28 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 21
Location: France
Yap wrote:
Sourge wrote:
I don't really see what you mean with analog+digital or dual digital to be honest :lol:


Well, the DVR-HD has TV Tuners built-in so it can receive TV broadcast signals. Analog TV Tuner works for those who are still receiving analog TV broadcasts typically through aerial or cable. Some countries have implemented DVB-T, well most countries have done so. It's more a matter of at what stage and how many channels are available free to air.

So the DVR-HD model with Analog+Digital (ACR-PV75100) would have a hybrid tuner that is able to receive analog broadcast as well as DVBT broadcast. This would be then similar to the previous model DVR-T except the new model is FullHD and is able to recevie both MPEG2 and MPEG4 (H.264) DVBT.

The DVR-HD model with dual Digital will have 2 DVBT tuners, meaning you can watch one channel and record another channel.

Both models have an analog in, so if you are using a set top box for your TV channels, you can always connect the video out (A/V Out) of the set top box to the A/V In of the DVR-HD


Thanks for explaining :D
Alright so I did a bit of research and it seems here(in France)we're using DVB-T, as analog signals are to be stopped very soon(it has already stopped in my city, ahur)

So yeah, dual DVB-T for France pls :P (we also have DVB-C, on a smaller scale)


Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:21 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 11
a) Digital+Analog: because of there are many customers also have analog subscription at broadcasting providers.
b) Hungary

_________________
vjozsef
-
A.C. Ryan Distribution - Hungary
http://www.flash.hu
point@flash.hu
(+36-1) 801 98 00


Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:28 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 7
thanks again, yap.

as for the multiple recording - as i wrote, recording multiple channles from the same frequency is something that i know that does not require more than one tuner, so it is just a matter of software. in my HTPC i can record from the 5 channels at the same time with the great GB-PVR, but not with other softwares. it is a very important feature, even if it will be only in future firmwares.

if your engineers don't know about it, maybe i can reffer them to the author of GB-PVR. he has alot of experience and knowledge with all kind of digital TV.

as for the audio codec - here is a link to a sample i recorded from the broadcast here is israel - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QVJ6WG6G

BTW: it's not such a common encoder. here is israel we have found the next decoder to decode it in our HTPC'S - http://blog.monogram.sk/janos/2009/03/0 ... oder-0960/

VLC Player has an internal decoder for it also...

BTW2: I don't know if you sell your products in new ziland, but if i'm now mistaken, they are also using AAC V2 over there.


and one last question (well, at least for this time 8-) ) i did not understand from your answer if there will be component or Svideo inputs so people will be able to record from their set top boxes they are using to recieve the cables and sattelite companies broadcasts (the analog service here in israel will die very soon, so only RF input won't do the job. and besides, the quality of analog transmittions is crap)


Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:48 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Netherlands
yes, there will be component inputs (in my earlier posts, I refer to this as AV-In, or Analog Input) so people will be able to record from their set top boxes they are using to recieve the cables and sattelite companies broadcasts.

Thx for the info, I'll pass it to our guys to check it out.

thx everyone... keep the info comin'

_________________
Products & Strategy - AC Ryan
AC Ryan @ Cebit 2011 | 1-5 March 2011 | Hannover Germany | Hall 14 Stand J06


Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:59 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by: phpBB | Innitial forum Design by: STSoftware | Modified by: AC Ryan.